Atlantic, NC Brief History
Atlantic is located about thirty miles east of Beaufort on Core Sound. It was originally called Hunting Quarters, named by the Tuscarora Indians, the Coree, from which Core Sound was named. In 1890 the name was changed to Atlantic. It was incorporated in 1905 but is not now active in municipal affairs. According to old land grants, about fifty acres were granted to Robert Wallace. The Wallace family cemetery is near the Willis Texaco Station.
Transportation was limited during the early days. Mail from Beaufort was received twice a week. Atlantic was isolated from other neighborhoods, except by water. In the early 1900's daily passenger and mail services began. The first permanent post office was established in 1880 with Thomas Chadwick as the postmaster.
Transportation was improved with the completion of a shell road in 1914-15 joining Haul’s Point to Annis’ Run, the two borders of Atlantic.
Atlantic Primitive Baptist Church — According to the records in “History of the Kehukee Association,” the Primitive Baptist Church was the first church established in this area about 1829. Their first church, on the waterfront, was destroyed by a storm. The present church was built on the Shell Road.
Atlantic United Methodist Church — The Methodists first met as classes in homes and their camp meetings were held in the Oak Grove that now holds the present church. This tract of land was about fifty acres and the first church, about 1897, was known as the “Church of Two Hundred Trees.” The oaks surrounding the church today are the same oaks that furnished a roof for the early camp meetings. In 1920 this church was remodeled by adding church school rooms. The present church was completed in May, 1965.
Atlantic Baptist Church — In November, 1896, a group of nine people met and organized a new church in Atlantic to be know as the Leary Memorial Baptist Church, in honor of Thomas A. Leary of Morehead City who was the first missionary to preach here. This organization was under the leadership of Walter N. Johnson, who was also the school teacher. The services were held in an old store building. Afterwards a Reverend Gaskill came and preached once every two months. Later the Reverend E. A. Paul was called as pastor and preached once a month for eleven years. Later the school house was purchased and converted into a church building. In 1923 the name was changed to Atlantic Missionary Baptist Church. The present church was completed in October, 1955.
God’s Missionary Church — Three persons from Atlantic
attended a revival at Free Grace Church on Harkers Island: Delphia Nelson,
Mary Willis, and Thelma Salter. They liked the service so much that they
invited Ray Hembrick and Kermit Farlow to come to Atlantic to establish
a church. Early meetings were held in tents, later a church was built
at the intersection of Highways 70 and 12. The ladies laid the corner
stone of the church in 1954. Donnie Salter became the fourth member.
In the early 1900's, Atlantic had two schools, locally known as the
“Hog” and the “Ram.” The “Ram” prepared
students for the business world, while the “Hog” prepared
them for college. They were both excellent schools for their day. Later
in 1906, the two combined and were know as the Atlantic Academy. This
became the first High School in Carteret County. It was consolidated with
East Carteret High School in 1965, leaving only the Elementary School
and Junior High in Atlantic.
Industries: Yesterday and Today
Source: Histories of Carteret County Communities. Compiled by the Carteret County Extension Homemakers Clubs. 1979; pp. 1-3.
|Down East Community Tour|